Empties and mini reviews!

Empties.pngEmpties are my favorite kinds of posts because it shows a lot of dedication to get to the end of a bottle when there are so many shiny new products to try. If you make it to the bottom of a jar, I salute you, dear skincare addict.

These are my empties from January – July 2016 (part 1). #RECEIPTS. Keep an eye out for part 2 which will be all about sheet masks.

My skin type is oily/combo and sensitive. I’m super sensitive to fragrance so strong fragrance will always be a deal breaker for me.

RP = Repurchase (either have already repurchased or plan to repurchase), WNR = Will Not Repurchase.

Now, brace yourself for a wall of text. I’ve got mini reviews and I’m not afraid to use them.

Cleansers:

CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser = RP.

The CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser is not a foaming cleanser – it feels kind of like a gel or an oil-free lotion. I use this on my face as a second cleanser because it is super gentle and moisturizing with hyaluronic acid and ceramides (but they all wash down the drain so…). This is also my body wash. You would not believe how much happier my body skin became when I switched out a regular body wash for this low pH, non-foaming cleanser. Magic. I’ve even used it to wash my hair. (My sensitive, aggravated scalp loves it.) There is no fragrance and it rinses clean. I’m almost finished with my second bottle of this.

The FaceShop Rice Water Bright Cleansing Light Oil = WNR.

This was a #hatefinish product. I finished it almost out of pure spite (and because I am cheap hate wasting stuff). I’m sorry, I know a lot of people really like this oil cleanser! I felt like this did a decent job of cleansing, but IT SMELLS SO BAD to me. The perfume level of this is unreal. It tastes like the perfume is in your mouth because the scent is so strong and it lingers. To me it smells somewhere between baby powder and old lady perfume. Huuuuurl. It also wasn’t awesome at emulsifying either so my skin always felt heavy afterwards. YMMV and YSPMV (Your Smelling Powers May Vary).

Edit for derp: I totally forgot to include an important part (arguably the most important part). This was causing me a lot of irritation – some times it even burned – and made my skin pink/red. It took me forever to figure it out that it was this cleanser causing redness. At about the 2/3-3/4 mark I stopped using it on my face and finished it up by using it to remove stubborn waterproof body sunblock after beach/pool days. Don’t be a dummy like me and continue to use a product on your face that is irritating your skin. Seriously.

Essences/toners/whatever:

Missha Time Revolution First Treatment Essence = RP.

I really like the Missha FTE. I found the FTE made a huge difference in my skin to keep moisture levels consistent without adding weight or oil. It’s brightening and soothing.   It doesn’t have a scent – unless you count a very, very faint yeasty/fermented smell. I don’t notice the fermented smell every time I use the Missha, only every once in a while, and it fades so quickly. Just good stuff. I’m testing out other FTEs because it’s fun, but I definitely will RP this.

Hada Labo Gokujyun Hyaluronic Acid Lotion (decant) = RP.

I got a decant** of this stuff and loved it so I bought the full size. It’s moisturizing without adding weight (great for oily-ish people like myself) and it seems to make everything I put on after it just work so much better. Not sure how to describe the texture … it’s sort of like a runny gel essence that dries down to a slightly sticky finish. It’s meant to be used as a hydration booster in addition to other hydrating products. I use it immediately after my FTE. It has basically no fragrance, so you know that makes me happy. I’m about halfway through the full size now. GOOD STUFF.

**Seriously, if y’all haven’t seen the AB Exchange on Reddit You. Need. To. Lovely people from all over the world are willing to sell you decants (small samples) of products. Try before you buy a full size! This has been a lifesaver for me.

Cosrx Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence = RP.

I love this stuff! It’s moisturizing, healing, calming – but very light. My skin is always so soft, calm, and happy when I use this. There’s no fragrance. The stringy, slimy texture of this is REAL, but that’s because of the very high snail content. You want that. Trust me. But don’t worry! It dries down beautifully. I bought a different snail essence to try for fun and I’m so sorry I did because it doesn’t hold a candle to the Cosrx. I need to get another bottle of this stuff right away.

Mizon Snail Recovery Gel Cream = RP.

If you can’t tell by the sheer number of empties … I’m seriously in love with this stuff. I raved about it a bit here, but I’ll share some more. It’s healing, soothing, calming, moisturizing. It’s meant to be used later in your routine, so it’s often either the last step in my routine (summer) or used just under a sleeping pack (winter). I use it for extra moisture on my body, if needed. I layer it with acne cream on breakouts and they heal so, so fast. No fragrance that I’ve ever noticed.

The Mizon snail gel will always hold a special place in my heart because it helped with this horrible contact dermatitis I got all over my arms, chest, and boobs (!). Calamine helped the itch for about 5 minutes but the Mizon gel provided soothing and calming snaily relief for about 45-60min. Pretty dang magical.20160703_161943

Treatment: 

Cosrx Acne Pimple Master Patch = RP.
This is another one that I raved about recently. It’s good stuff. It helps to flatten out a zit – or bring an underground zit to the surface. It keeps me from touching the zit, too, which is super helpful. I offered to let my husband try one on a huge, I mean HUGE, zit and the Cosrx patch brought the zit to about half its original size overnight. Now, he asks to use them. They’re that good.

But, to be fair, sometimes they don’t bring the magic. I’ve had underground zits and regular ones that didn’t improve at all with the patch. The patches seem to only work on certain kinds of zits, or at certain “depths” if that makes sense. Just trying to keep things realistic. Sometimes the magic wins and other times the acne wins. That’s life.IMG_20160719_190556301_HDR

Sunscreen:

Biore Watery Essence SPF 50, PA ++++= RP.

Biore Watery Gel SPF 50, PA ++++ = RP.

I love both of these products so much and I only feel like I can review them together. (I think I’m missing one more Watery Essence in the photo.)  The Gel is very watery – I like this because I feel like I can slather it on so quickly. The Essence is more of a gel texture and it feels a bit luxurious as you apply it. I’m currently more excited about the Gel right now because it comes in a bigger container but the Essence is a great product, too. Both have a faint citrus smell. They also have a fair amount of alcohol to help it dry down faster so be careful if you’re sensitive to alcohol. Also, they’re both not waterproof so keep that in mind.

If you made it to the bottom of this post, I salute you.

~Rachel

“Noona”

Leave a Reply

